Dungog Shire has three Wards being A, B and C with three Councillors elected from each of the three Wards giving a total of nine Councillors. Following the election to be held on 4 December 2021, the number of Councillors will be reduced from 9 to 7, which will include the popularly elected Mayor. 

On the 15 September 2021, Councillor John Connors was re-elected by Council unopposed as the Mayor and Councillor Steve Low was re-elected as Deputy Mayor unopposed. The terms of the Mayor and Deputy Mayor will expire at the election on 4 December 2021.